Abu Dhabi


New York

Wed, 20 Nov 2019 16:23 GMT

Nominees For IAAF Athlete of the Year Revealed


Ahmed Ahmed

Thu, 17 Oct 2019 08:58 GMT

Following the end of the Athletics World Championships earlier this month, the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) released the nominees for the Male and Female Athlete of the Year.

Britain’s Katerina Johnson-Thompson is among the nominees for Female Athlete of the Year after storming to her first global title earlier this month. The 26-year-old scored 6,981 points to break Jessica Ennis’s British Heptathlon record on her way to her first World Championship gold medal.

Jamaica’s Shelly-Ann Fraser is also nominated for the award. The 32-year-old came back from giving birth to her son just two years ago and reclaimed her world title with a stunning time of 10.71.

American 400 metres hurdler Dalilah Muhammad is expected to be among the favourites for the award after breaking the world record twice this year.

She is expected to be closely challenged by Dutch distance runner Sifan Hassan, who became the first person ever to complete a 1500 metres and 10,000 metres double at the World Championships.

For the men’s Athlete of the Year, Norwegian 400 metres hurdler Karsten Warholm is among the favourites after an outstanding season. The 23-year-old was unbeaten all year and ran the second-fastest time in history earlier this season. He capped off his outstanding season by retaining his world title last month.

Eliud Kipchoge, who broke the two-hour mark for the marathon earlier this month, has also been nominated for the award.

Male Nominees

Donavan Brazier, Christian Coleman, Joshua Cheptegei, Timothy Cheruiyot, Steven Gardiner, Sam Kendricks, Eliud Kipchoge, Noah Lyles, Daniel Stahl, Christian Taylor, Karsten Warholm

Female Nominees

Beatrice Chepkoech, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Sifan Hassan, Brigid Kosgei, Mariya Lasitskene, Malaika Mihambo, Dalilah Muhammad, Salwa Eid Naser, Hellen Obiri, Yulimar Rojas