Abu Dhabi


New York

Tuesday 20th March 2018

Salah, Mane, Aubamyang on African Player of the Year Shortlist


7Dnews London

Wed, 02 Jan 2019 14:41 GMT

Forwards Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have again made the shortlist for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) player of the year award, in a repeat of last year's shortlist. The CAF announced the finalists on Tuesday January 1st from an original list of 34 players, Reuters has reported.

Egyptian international Salah is the current award holder, after his goals played a large part in helping Liverpool reach the Champions League final in 2018. Salah, expected to win again, hopes to become the fourth player to win back-to-back titles after Senegal forward El Hadji Diouf, Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure.

Liverpool team-mate Mane from Senegal has been closing in on the prize after finishing third in the voting in 2016 and second last year.

Gabon forward Aubameyang made the final three for the fifth time in succession, equalling the record set by Toure and former Ghana international midfielder Michael Essien.

The award is voted for by the national team coaches and captains of CAF's 56 member associations. The winner for 2018 will be announced in Dakar, Senegal, on January 8th.