Abu Dhabi


New York

Mon, 20 Jan 2020 20:13 GMT

Bahrain Beat Saudi Arabia, Claim First Ever Arabian Gulf Cup Title


Mahmoud Al Assal

Sun, 08 Dec 2019 18:48 GMT

Bahrain national football team have claimed the 24th Arabian Gulf Cup title after beating Saudi Arabia 1-0 in the tournament’s final game on Sunday December 8th at Abdullah bin Khalifa Stadium.

Manama striker Mohamed Saad Al Romaihi scored the victory goal for Bahrain in the 69th minute to give his side their first-ever title since the start of the tournament. 

Bahrain opened the 24th Arabian Gulf Cup campaign with the goalless draw with Oman before losing 2-0 to Saudi Arabia in the 2nd round of the group stage. 

The Reds defeated Kuwait 4-2 in the third round of the group stage to reach the tournament’s semifinals. 

In the tournament’s semifinal, Bahrain defeated Iraq 5-3 on a penalty shootout to set up a final game against Saudi Arabia. 

Bahrain made their best appearance in the Arabian Gulf Cup when they snatched the runners-up place in 1970 when they hosted the tournament. 

They also claimed the runners-up place in 1982, 1992 and 2003. With the participation of all eight members of the Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation, the 24th biennial football competition started on November 26th in Doha. 

The idea for the tournament was first established at the 1968 Summer Olympics, and the first Arabian Gulf Cup took place in 1970, which was won by Kuwait. 

Middle East